Race Results
March 25, 2017


"Robinson Scores Hard Fought Win in Winchester Season Opener"

"Tyler Bare Flawless in RUSH Crates"

By Doug Watson

           Winchester, VA-  Georgetown Delaware's Ross Robinson drove an inspired race to score his first win of the 2017 season in last Saturday nights 30-lap Late Model feature at Winchester Speedway. The win for Robinson, aboard his Capital Race Cars no.7R, was the second of his Winchester career and netted him a $2000 winners check.
           Robinson and defending track champion Dale Hollidge made up the front row for the start of the event with Robinson darting into the race lead as the field boomed into turn one. Dale Hollidge and then Jonathan DeHaven both chased Robinson before Kyle Hardy secured the spot on the 21st lap. A lap 29 caution set the stage for another epic Winchester finish, but Robinson was able to keep Hardy at bay, and come home with the popular win. "We spent a month in Georgia with Shane Clanton and Frank Heckenast working with this race car and the hard work paid off because I think we've got something really good right now." An emotional Robinson stated in victory lane. "We have sacrificed so much and so many people have helped us over the years to get where we are, I just cant thank them enough, I think we're going to have a good year." Hardy was solid in second with 13th starting Jason Miller taking third, Dale Hollidge was fourth with 22nd starting Trever Feathers rounding out the top-five. Heats for the 25 car field went to Robinson, Hollidge and DeHaven.
          Tyler Bare scored a flag to flag win in the 20-lap RUSH Crate Late Model main. Bare started on the pole and wired the field for his first feature win of 2017 wheeling his Rocket no.30. "This is our first race back home since we went to Florida over the winter." Bare stated. "I have to thank the team for giving me such a great race car tonight and especially my mom and dad for allowing me to do this,I couldn't do it without them." Mike Franklin came from 8th to finish second with Allen Brannon, defending track champion Logan Roberson and Transtan Stone completing the top-five. Heats for the 20 cars entered went to Tyler Bare and Timmy Booth. 
          In support class action, defending track champion Chris Sumption took the win in the 15-lap Pure Stock feature, Jason Wilkins started his title defense with a win in the 15-lap U-Car event with Tom Caravello scoring the win in the nightcap 15-lap Enduro Stock main.

Late Model feature finish
1. Ross Robinson 2. Kyle Hardy 3. Jason Miller 4. Dale Hollidge 5. Trever Feathers 6. Steve Axtell Jr. 7. Glenn Elliott 8. Rodney Walls 9. Daryl Hills 10. Amanda Whaley 11. Scott Palmer 12. Walter Crouch 13. Wesley Bonebrake 14. Brad Omps 15. Brian Tavenner 16. Charlie Schaffer 17. Bob Hershman 18. Cody Gray 19. Austin Stover 20. Jonathan DeHaven 21. Tommy Armel 22. Mike Steck 23. Dallas Richards 24. Reese Masiello (DNS) 25. Mark Eshelman (DNS)

RUSH Crate Late Model feature finish
1. Tyler Bare 2. Mike Franklin 3. Allen Brannon 4. Logan Roberson 5. Transtan Stoner 6. Billy Beachler 7. Chuck Bowie 8. Jacob Piper 9. Tyler Hoy 10. Levi Crowl 11. Matt Tarbox 12. Greg Beach 13. Scott Sweeney 14. Jamie Sutphin 15. Steve Lowery 16. Timmy Booth 17. Joey McClung 18. Harry Shipe III 19. Devin Brannon 20. Roger Whitlock

Pure Stock feature finish
1. Chris Sumption 2. Craig Parrill 3. Tony Catlett 4. Jeremy Tinsman 5. Sam Crouch 6. Greg Breeden 7. Rob Nichols (DNS) 8. Ethan Ours (DNS

Enduro Stock feature finish
1. Tom Caravello 2. Mark Vegh 3. Dylan Rutherford 4. Kevin Lee 5. Paul Jones 6. Dalton Dillman 7. Chet Morris 8. Ricky Feltner 9. Allen Jones 10. Greg Breeden

U-Car feature finish
1. Jason Wilkins 2. Jeff Wilkins 3. Justin Bowley 4. Allen Griffith 5. Chad Brill 6. Jacob Lewis 7. Rick Bowman 8. Larry Lamb 9. TJ Collins 10. Kevin Woodward 11. Terry Kave 12. Jerry Hefflin 13. Branson Woodward 14. Chuckie Johnson 15. Brent Howell 16. Mike Griffin 17. Randy Wilkins 18. Gene Wilson 19. Austin Nichols