Race Results
April 3, 2021


“Mountaineer Man Finds Victory Lane Again”
“Kyle Hardy Wins Two In A Row”
By Brent Hottle
Winchester, (VA)-After such a successful opening night last week, the speedway officials were excited to get another Saturday night of racing started. With the Easter Holiday being part of this weekend we had a surprise visitor for the kids. The Easter Bunny made an appearance handing out plastic eggs with candy to all the children. Children big and small all had smiles on their faces as the Easter bunny interacted with them. The bunny even made its way onto the flag stand to wave the green flag for the start of our first feature event.
The first feature event would be the pure stock division. Action would happen right from the start of the event as racing contact between a few of the lead cars would cause a small pile up on the back straightaway. Once the track was cleaned up we would see Chuckie Johnson take the lead. As the race progressed Walter Crouch would challenge and take the lead away from Johnson. Walter would later hold off a challenging second place running Rob Nichols. Walter Crouch would cross the finish line first, taking his first career win in the pure stock division. The orange number 92 is a familiar sight in Winchester’s victory lane over the years, but it is normally driven by Walter’s late father. Walter was excited in victory lane and stated his dad was right there with him.
Next up was the crate late model division. Once the green flag waved, we would see the front row starters of Levi Crowl and Devin Brannon slide high allowing last week’s winner Kyle Hardy to grab the lead. Kyle would never look back and cruise to his second win in a row at the speedway. The Hardy family is enjoying the early success in their newly reformed family team.
Our third division of the night would be the limited late model division, where we would see a surprise victory from the “Mountaineer Man” Gerald Davis. Gerald is no stranger to victory lane, however it has been several years since he’s stood in it. Gerald went into retirement several years ago but never lost his drive to race. After getting back into a car last year, he found his way back behind the seat full time by the end of the last season. Gerald would jump out to the lead and hold on to take his first victory of the season. This was also the first victory for local chassis builder Mitch Miller’s MillerBuilt Racing Chassis. Wesley Bonebrake would finish second for the second week in a row. In a post race interview Wesley stated his car just gets better in the long runs. And joked maybe he needed a “40” lap race, but laughed and said they just need to make a few adjustments to get better sooner.
Next the modified division would take center stage. We would see Mike Franklin take the lead and go on to win the feature. He held off a few challenges from Cody Oliver who was also holding off some challenges from hard charging Haley Kaiser. Once the checkered flag flew Oliver would hold on for second place with Kaiser crossing the line in third.
We would end our racing program with the enduro division where we would see Cody Sumption go from spin to win! Early contact would see Cody Sumption spinning. Cody would restart from the rear of
the field and slowly mount his charge to the front. Early on it looked like Dylan Rutherford would take the win as he was leading the field with a strong lead. Once Cody caught Dylan a side by side battle would form until Cody edged ahead with the lead. Cody would go on to take his first victory of the year in the endure division with Dylan Rutherford finishing in second place.
We want to thank all our competitors, spectators and track officials for making this another great night of racing. We also would like to welcome Bud Watson to Winchester Speedway after making the long tow from Ohio. Remember to like our Facebook and Twitter account for up-to-date information.
Pure Stock Results
Walter Crouch, Rob Nichols, Brandon Lowery, Michael Carter, Chuckie Johnson, Andy Adkins, Bailey Tolson, Chris Bohrer, Delmar Grady, Russel Fox, Greg Breeden, Mike Grady Jr., Dylan Rutherford, Tony Catlett, Buddy Wilson
Crate Late Model Results
Kyle Hardy, Devin Brannon, Bud Watson, Levi Crowl, Mike Franklin, Megan Mann, Ben Scott, Timmy Booth, Scott Sweeney Jr, Dustin Arnold, Dickie Tharp, Trae Armel
Limited Late Model Results
Gerald Davis, Wesley Bonebrake, Derick Quade, Austin Stover, James Lichliter, Travis Campbell, Kris Holiday, Scott Sweeney, Justin Dillman, Brad Omps, Craig Parrill, Robbie Emory, Bubby Tharp Jr, Tom Chaffins
Modified Results
Mike Franklin, Cody Oliver, Haley Kaiser, Cody Williams, Matt Wallace, Jacob Whitt, Jimmy Iser, George Gutridge, Andrew Fertig, Stuart Weaver, Vance Williams Jr
Enduro Results
Cody Sumption, Dylan Rutherford, Samuel Caravello, Randy Linaburg, David Barb, Charles Smith, Seth Jones, Paul Jones, Sam Hoffman, Nathanial Yonker, Tom Caravello, Jason Wilkins, Skylar Barnhardt