Race Results
April 6, 2013


“Stuhler’s Back, Scores Career 76th Saturday at Winchester”
“Defending Champ Brad Ritter Collects LLM Laurels”
By Doug Watson
Winchester, VA- Greencastle Pa.’s Gary Stuhler was victorious for the first time this season in last Saturday nights 30-lap late model feature at Winchester speedway. The $2000 win, for the national dirt late model hall of fame member, was his first Winchester feature win since May 10, 2008, and his career 76th at the speedway.
The heads-up start placed Jamie Lathroum and Stuhler on the front-row for the start of the event. After one aborted start, Stuhler out-dragged Lathroum on the ensuing double-file start into the first-turn to become the race leader. Lathroum hounded Stuhler for the first 13-laps before JT Spence took up the chase on lap-14. A lap-19 caution gave Spence and the rest of the field one last shot at Stuhler, however, Stuhler was not to be denied as he would take the win by three car lengths over Spence at the finish. “It’s been a while since we’ve been here.” Stuhler stated in Winchester’s victory lane. “We’ve been struggling pretty bad here of late with this new car, but the guys have kept working on this thing, and I’m glad to get a win for them.” Runner-up JT Spence kept Stuhler on his toes over the final 10-laps. “I knew what tire I had on and I knew what JT had on.” Stuhler explained. “During the caution I tried to cool mine down, because the car seemed to be getting slower as the race went on, but that caution really helped me to get out of that lapped traffic and run my line.” Stuhler stated. “This is a great way to start the season.” Lathroum held tough for third, Trever Feathers was fourth with Devin Friese rounding out the top-five. Heats for the 23 cars on hand went to Stuhler and Lathroum.
Defending track champion Brad Ritter was the winner of the 20-lap limited late model headliner. Ritter beat fellow front-row starter Bubby Tharp Jr. into the first turn to start the event, and would eventually lead all 20-laps over a hard-charging Andy Anderson. Jonathon DeHaven was third, Robbie Emory fourth with Keith Walls rounding out the top-five. Heats for the 24-cars entered went to Tharp and DeHaven.
Former track champion Mike Corbin scored his first Winchester win of the season in the 15-lap pure stock main. Corbin wrestled the race lead from eventual runner-up Michael Carter on lap-three, and would go on to post a dominating victory. Defending track champion Mike Franklin was third, Brian Luttrell was fourth with Craig Parrill filling the front-five. Heats for the 16 cars went to Franklin and Jerry Fifield.
In the 15-lap four-cylinder feature, Ed Gageby took the win in the first appearance of the season for the class. Gageby snared the race lead form Roger Whitlock on lap-8 and would cruise to the checker. Whitlock would hang on for second, Scott McCartney was third, Gary Newell fourth with Allen Whitt Jr. completing the top-five. Heats went to Whitlock and Gageby.
Kevin Pollard continued his winning ways as he was the winner of the 15-lap ucar main. Pollard took the top-spot from his father, Mark Pollard, on lap-3 and would go on to post the win. Dad was second, Jason Wilkins third, Jeff Budwash was fourth with Jeff Wilkins rounding out the top-five. Heats went to Jason Wilkins, Jeff Budwash and Mark Pollard.
Late model feature finish
1. Gary Stuhler 2. JT Spence 3. Jamie Lathroum 4. Trever Feathers 5. Devin Friese 6. Kenny Moreland 7. Roy Deese Jr. 8. Glenn Elliott 9. Kenny Pettyjohn 10. DJ Myers 11. Tyler Hershey 12. Brad Omps 13. Kyle hardy 14. Tommy Armel 15. Tony Crim 16. Greg Roberson 17. Chaz Walls 18. Matt Sponaugle 19. Pancho Lawler 20. Jason Miller 21. Justin Kann 22. Duane Harbaugh 23. Denny Bone brake (DNS)
Limited late model feature finish
1. Brad Ritter 2. Andy Anderson 3. Jonathon DeHaven 4. Robbie Emory 5. Keith Walls 6. Rodney Walls 7. Kris Holliday 8. Bubby Tharp Jr. 9. Travis Stickley 10. Walter Crouch 11. Mitch Miller 12. James Lichliter 13. John Baker 14. Michael Alderman 15. Kevin Deremer 16. Jacob Burdette 17. Mike Bennett 18. Scott Tessman 19. Jimmy Richards 20. Richard Hawkins 21. James Carte 22. Ernie Shirley 23. Travis McClelland 24. Tom Chaffins
Pure stock feature finish
1. Mike Corbin 2. Michael Carter 3. Mike Franklin 4. Brian Luttrell 5. Craig Parrill 6. Dickie Tharp 7. Mike Grady Jr. 8. David Kaiser 9. Terry Staton 10. Buddy Wilson 11. Bob Gladden 12. Josh Wilkins 13. Eddie McClellan 14. Stuart Wells 15. Jerry Fifield 16. Reese Alley (DNS)
Four-cylinder feature finish
1. Ed Gageby 2. Roger Whitlock 3. Scott McCartney 4. Gary Newell 5. Allen Whitt Jr. 6. Justin Hottle 7. Sonny Hatzell 8. Jeff Koller 9. Daren Pingley 10. Austin Stover 11. Ethan Ours 12. Shane Koller (DNS) 13. Tommy Whitt (DNS)
u-car feature finish
1. Kevin Pollard 2. Mark Pollard 3. Jason Wilkins 4. Jeff Budwash 5. Jeff Wilkins 6. Michael Pfaff 7. Steve Katz 8. Brenda Alexander 9. Michael Webb 10. Larry Lamb 11. Allen Jones 12. Robert Perry 13. Josh Reedy 14. Alan Dice 15. Joe Yablonski 16. Randy Wilkins 17. Kevin Oates 18. Jacob Lewis 19. Justin Katz 20. Brian Skelly 21. Terry Leach 22. Dwayne Pierson 23. David Funk Jr. 24. Mickey Payne 25. Austin Nichols 26. Samantha Thompson 27. Theo Funk (DNS) 28. Steve Fadeley (DNS)