Race Results
May 22, 2021


“Austin Stover Wins The Limited Late Model Feature”
“Mike Franklin Wins The Modified Feature”
By Brent Hottle
Winchester, (VA)-Warm temperatures are starting to move into the Shenandoah Valley, which would provide great weather for us to enjoy a night of racing. Towards the end of the night a few pop up rain drops would try to stall the night’s events, but the clouds held back and we had another great night of racing at “The Action Track”. Greg Gunter and his staff work hard each week to get the facility ready, and we cannot thank all of our fans and competitors enough for their support this year. We would see plenty of hard racing action throughout the heat races and all eyes would now be ready to see who would be standing in victory lane tonight.
Up first our Pure Stock Division took center stage. After watching a 3 car battle last week, everyone was ready to see more hard racing action this week. We wouldn’t be disappointed, as Walter Crouch would take the early lead and third place starter Buddy Wilson would mount his charge on Crouch. These two cars would start to pull away from the rest of the field. A few cautions would close in the gap, but Crouch and Wilson were to strong, as they would put space in between them and the rest of the field after each restart. We would see Mike Grady Jr find heartbreak during one of the cautions, as his car came to a stop and was engulfed in a white cloud of smoke on lap 11. As the laps winded down we would see Wilson work high and low trying to find a way around leader Walter Crouch. He would run out of laps trying to find a way to the lead. Walter Crouch would win the event followed by Buddy Wilson in second.
In the Modified Division, we would see outside pole sitter Mike Franklin take the lead at the drop of the green flag. Franklin would never look back as he would go on to win the feature, after leading every lap. Several restarts couldn’t stall his charge to his second win of the season. Behind Franklin we would see a war wage for second place between Mike Corbin and Cody Oliver. They would swap the second place position several times until Oliver was able to wrestle it away from Corbin for good. Oliver would put some distance between his machine and third place, but didn’t have enough speed to run down our leader Mike Franklin and would come home in second place.
Next up we would see an exciting win for Austin Stover! Austin hasn’t won in the division for quite a while, but he has been running consistently up front the last few weeks. As he has had several podium finishes. Austin would lead all 25 laps of the event. It wasn’t an easy win by any stretch, as Stover had last week’s winner Wesley Bonebrake hot on his heels. During the closing laps, Austin would also have to navigate his way through heavy lap traffic, but nothing could keep the number 11 machine from victory lane. As we would see Stover win, Bonebrake finish second and Logan Roberson cross the line in third.
After watching an exciting victory lane celebration, all eyes were ready to see what the SCDRA and Winchester UCARS had in store for us. We would see a hard battle between Matt Chronister, Robbie Carrol and Jeff Foster, with Jeff Foster coming out on top and winning the SCDRA event. Behind them we
would see a strong running Shawn Payne in his Winchester UCAR take the win in that division. Shawn
didn’t quite have enough to battle with the front running SCDRA cars, but he never let them get that far
away from him. As he took home a very strong run in his 8 valve machine.
In the Crate Late Model Division we would see Tanner Kerr get the early lead and look like he was going
to bring home the feature win, but on lap 9 we would see fourth place starter Devin Brannon take the
second position from Levi Crowl. Devin would then set his sights on the number 41 machine driven by
Kerr. Brannon would capitalize on a lap 11 restart as he would take the lead away from Kerr on lap 12.
Brannon would then never look back and take the feature win.
Last on the night was our Enduro Division. We would see hard racing at the beginning that would shuffle
the front two starting rows. This would allow Jason Wilkins to take the early lead. It would look like
Wilkins would be taking home another win, but we would see Dylan Rutherford mount a charge to the
front. Rutherford would make a move on Wilkins as the white flag waved. Rutherford was able to take
the lead away from Wilkins and bring home the win.
It was another great night at the Winchester Speedway. Again we would like to thank everyone who
attended the night’s events. Make sure you like our Twitter and Facebook pages for all your up to date
information about upcoming events. We also post exclusive videos and photos during the race nights.
There is a schedule change for this Saturday May 29. The SCDRA cars have been added to the event.
They will also be racing for $400 to win.
Pure Stock Results
Walter Crouch, Buddy Wilson, Michael Carter, Ron Nichols, Brandon Lowery, Chuckie Johnson, Andy
Adkins, Tony Catlett, Dylan Rutherford, Delmar Grady, Mike Grady Jr, Bailey Tolson
Modified Results
Mike Franklin, Cody Oliver, Mike Corbin, Cody Williams, Rick Hulson, Dale Smith, Vance Williams Jr,
Haley Kaiser, Gary Moreland, Jeffrey McCauley, Stuart Weaver, Josh Hughes, Jimmy Combs, Andrew
Fertig, George Gutridge, Travis Clower
Limited Late Model Results
Austin Stover, Wesley Bonebrake, Logan Roberson, James Lichiter, Allan Brannon, Samuel Bryant, Gerald
Davis, Rodney Walls, Brad Omps, Sam Archer, Lewis Hudson, Scott Sweeney, Tyler Hoy, Kris Holiday,
Jonathan DeHaven, Craig Parrill, Justin Dillman, Gunnar Walls, Mason Strait, Tommy Cordell, Justin
Fulton, Andy Anderson, Josh Williams
Jeff Foster, Matt Cronister, Robbie Carrol, Shawn Payne, Ryan Clatterbuck, Dominic King, Tim Steele,
Randy Wilkins, Rusty Poston, Jerry Casile, Jason Jarvis, Tiff Wilson, Lonnie Honday, Tonya Arnold, Wayne
Selby, Vincent Rexroad, Matthew Duvall, Travis Dye
Crate Late Model Results
Devin Brannon, Tanner Kerr, Levi Crowl, Mike Franklin, Scott Sweeney Jr, Daniel Brown Jr, Timmy Booth,
Dickie Tharp, Dustin Arnold, Trae Armel, Morgan Johnston, Branson Woodward
Enduro Results
Dylan Rutherford, Jason Wilkins, Aaron Drummond, Samuel Caravello, Cody Sumption, David Barb, Seth
Jones, Skyar Barnhardt, Paul Jones, Matt Moore, Randy Linaburg




3-26 4-3 4-10
4-17 5-1 5-8