Race Results
May 25, 2019


"Story Book Ending for Allen Brannon in Winchester Late Models"

"Scores Hard Fought Win in Chuck Brannon Memorial"

By Doug Watson

                 Winchester, Va-  It couldn't have been scripted out in a better way for Allen Brannon last Saturday night a Winchester Speedway. The track hosted the first annual "Chuck Brannon Memorial"  a race that honored Allen's uncle and long time area racing great that passed last year. Brannon's first Winchester Late Model win of the season netted the hometown veteran a hefty payday of $10,175 in purse, lap and heat race money and it came steering his self-owned Longhorn no.30. 
                 Brannon and Alex Ferree shared the front row for the start with Brannon booming into the lead as the field roared into turn one. Four different drivers that included Ferree, Ross Robinson, Kyle Hardy and eventually Tyler Horst chased Brannon the entire way, but Brannon was not to be denied and drove to a six car-length win at the stripe. Needless to say, it was quite an emotional win. "I believe I had someone riding with me tonight." Brannon stated post race. "Uncle Chuck came with us to the track every week and we sure do miss him, but its an awesome way to honor him with this win tonight." Brannon was quick to praise those who aided his winning drive. "Jim Stevens means so much to our program and along with all our family and sponsors, we couldn't do this without them." Tyler Horst earned the hard charger award as he came from the 20th starting spot to finish second. "We were junk in time trials and our heat race so we just threw some things at the car and it was awesome tonight and to come home second is a great run for us." Former track champion Dale Hollidge was solid in third. "We were fighting a carburetor issue during the race which kind of hurt us, but the crew gave me a good car so we'll take a third on move on to the next race." 19th starting Kyle Hardy came home 4th with Matt Sponaugle rounding out the top-five. Heats for the 27 cars entered went to Allen Brannon, Alex Ferree and Ross Robinson.
                In support class action, current point leader Austin Nichols drove to his 3rd win of the season in the 15-lap Enduro Stock feature with Allen Griffith Jr. collecting the win in the 15-lap U-Car main. The 20-lap RUSH Crate Late Model feature and the 15-lap Pure Stock contest fell to curfew and will be made up at a later date. 

Late Model feature finish
1. Allen Brannon 2. Tyler Horst 3. Dale Hollidge 4. Kyle Hardy 5. Matt Sponaugle 6. Justin Weaver 7. Walter Crouch 8. Kyle Lee 9. Greg Elrod 10. Jason Miller 11. Ross Robinson 12. Russell Erwin 13. Greg Roberson 14. Alex Ferree 15. Randy Burkholder 16. Tommy Armel 17. Andy Anderson 18. James Lichliter 19. Scott Merryman 20. Colten Burdette 21. Andy Fries 22. Brad Omps 23. Austin Stover  DNS- Trever Feathers, Travis Stickley, Scott Palmer, Scott Sweeney

Enduro Stock feature finish
1. Austin Nichols 2. Aaron Drummond 3. Chad Brill 4. Jason Wilkins 5. Cody Sumption 6. Allen Jones 7. Dan Walters 8. Kevin Lee 9. Phillip Robinson 10. Skylar Barnhardt 11. Jerry Blansett 12. Dalton Dillman 13. Jeff Galvin 14. Seth Jones 15. Chuckie Johnson 16. Nathaniel Younker

U-Car feature finish
1. Allen Griffith Jr. 2. Larry Lamb 3. Kevin Oates 4. Ricky Shanholtz 5. Lonnie Hobday 6. Robert Wilson 7. Jeff Wilkins 8. Russell Fox 9.Gene Wilson 10. Tif Wilson 11. Jeff Kline 12. Billy Smith 13. Mike Griffith 14. Randy Wilkins 15. Branson Woodward





3-30 4-6 4-13
4-20 4-27 5-18