Race Results
May 8, 2021


“ Michael Altobelli Jr Wins The Mid Atlantic Modified Race”
“Devin Brannon Takes The Crate Late Model Win”
By Brent Hottle
Winchester, (VA)-With high anticipation for a big event, we watched over 100 cars fill the pit areas at the Winchester Speedway. The temperature was cool, but the action on the track was hot! Bobby Dove would once again work his magic and provide us with a racing surface that would allow three wide racing throughout the night! We cannot thank Bobby Dove and his team enough for all their hard work and dedication each and every week! Timed hotlaps in the modified and limited late model divisions would determine their heat race starting positions. While a pill draw would set the rest of the divisions heat races. We would see plenty of two and three wide racing action throughout all of the heat races. With a touch of prep to the track after the invocation and playing of our national anthem, it was time to see who would be standing in victory lane tonight!
First up was the crate late model division. We would see an all Brannon front row with Allen Brannon starting from the pole alongside of his son Devin. Devin would grab the early lead from his father and never look back. A few cautions during the event couldn’t keep him from his win, as he would slowly pull away from with father each lap. In victory lane Devin would say he was happier to beat his dad for the win than winning the race! We all knew it was going to be a battle between the young gun and the veteran. The Tough Luck award would go to Levi Crowl after going to the rear of the field due to an early spin and hitting the wall trying to fight his way back to the front.
Next up was the UCAR division. Just like all our races in this division this year, there were two winners, one winner of our regular Winchester UCAR division and one winner of the SCDRA division. What a race we would see between the SCDRA cars of Devon Iser, Terry Hartlaub and Aj Hofner. They would swap the lead several times, while racing each other and passing lap traffic. We would see some rubbing amongst the top runners as they did battle, but Devon Iser would come out on top taking the SCDRA victory. Devon’s car would have a tire starting to go flat in the closing laps, mostly due to the tight racing action, but it couldn’t stop him from the win. In the Winchester UCAR division we would see former winner/car owner and series sponsor Shawn Payne top the division and bring home the win.
After an exciting UCAR feature, everyone was on the edge of their seats to see what kind of action the Modified division would bring. 29 cars showed up for the Mid Atlantic Modified race, and track promoter would elect to pay and start all 29 cars! We can’t thank Mr. Gunter enough for all his hard work and dedication to making these events bigger and bigger. Keith Jackson and Michael Altobelli Jr would make up our front row. Jackson would get the early lead at the start of the 30 lap main event, but Altobelli wasn’t going to go away. He started to pull up to the rear of Jackson’s car just as a caution would come out on lap 9. We would see a restart where Jackson would pull out to an early lead, but on lap 13 Altobelli would make his move to the inside of Jackson. They would go onto battle several laps, until Altobelli was able to take the lead on lap 16. He would go on to take the victory over the 29 car field, but it wasn’t an easy one, as we would see him thread the needle and go three wide with two lap cars to make his way around them and build on his lead! Mid pack the action was just as hot as we
would see several three wide and slide job passes. In the end it would be Michael Altobelli Jr taking the
win followed by Keith Jackson and Mike Franklin.
Next we would see what the Limited Late Models could offer, as we would see Logan Roberson and Kyle
Hardy make up our front row. Both of these cars have seen victory lane this year, so all eyes were on
these two young veterans. We would see Roberson take the early lead and find his way back to victory
lane for the second time this year. Austin Stover would find his way to a podium finish as he crossed the
checkered flag second.
We have seen several different winners this season in our Enduro class, and tonight we would watch
another new, but familiar face in victory lane. Jason Wilkins has had a tough start to the season with
handling issues on his number 9 machine. Last week would see him battling up front for the win, and
this week we would see him take the lead and cruise to his first win of the season!
We would finish our night off with the Pure Stock division. Last week we would see Rob Nichols lead
most of the race, but would come home second. This week we would see Rob once again take command
of the field and lead the race from start to finish! Bringing home the victory! Sixth place starter Dylan
Rutherford would make his way to second and try to run down our leader, but just didn’t have enough
time to make the challenge, and would finish second followed by Mike Grady Jr. in third.
We want to thank everyone for coming out on this cool night and supporting the Winchester Speedway.
We hope the mothers who won the Mother’s Day Raffle enjoyed their goodies. A big thank you goes to
Jenn Hottle, Holly Kaiser, Chirsty Link(CLL Photograpy), Anise Hottle(Just A Bite Bakery) and Greg Gunter
for putting the two baskets together. We also want to thank our staff for all of their hard work! We look
forward to seeing you next week, when the Central Pa Legend Series invades the Winchester Speedway.
Also make sure to like our Facebook and Twitter pages for exclusive up-to-date information.
Crate Late Model Results
Devin Brannon, Allan Brannon, Scott Sweeny Jr, Jacob Burdette, Steve Lowery, Trae Armel, Dustin
Arnold, Branson Woodward, Dickie Tharp, Doug Saylor, Levi Crowl, Austin Bussler
UCAR Results
Devon Isler, Aj Hofner, Brandon Hoffner, Terry Hartlaub, Rusty Garlock, Noah Swank, Rob Williams,
Anthony Varner, Shawn Payne, Rusty Poston, Randy Wilkins, Nicholas Barthalow, Allen Fiddesop, Jerry
Casile, Jason Jarvis, Tonya Arnold, Wayne Selby, Hunter Bilmeyer, Matt Popish, Jeff Foster
Modified Results
Michael Altobelli Jr, Keith Jackson, Mike Franklin, Cody Oliver, Austin Holcombe, Jerry Foster, Cody
Williams, Justin Cullum, TJ DeHaven, Steve Axtel, Haley Kaiser, Jared Spalding, Jimmy Jesmer, Ray Kable,
Micahel Pappas, Jacob Whitt, Dale Smith, Brandon Householder, Mitch Thomas, Travis Clower, Fank
DiBella, Lance Grady, Gary Moreland, George Gutridge, Mike Corbin, Vance Williams Jr, John Parisher, Cole Nogle, Stuart Weaver
Limited Late Model Results
Logan Roberson, Austin Stover, Keith Koontz, Wesley Bonebrake, Bubby Tharp Jr, Craig Parrill, Jacob Piper, Scott Palmer, Brad Omps, Sam Archer, Jonathan DeHaven, Chad Myers, Scott Sweeny, Tommy Cordell, Carl Vaughn, Austin Warrenfeltz, Justin Dilman, Tyler Emory, Gerald Davis, Gunner Walls, Mason Strait, Rodney Walls, Kris Holiday, Kyle Hardy
Enduro Results
Jason Wilkins, Sam Caravello, Randy Linaburg, Cody Sumption, Dylan Rutherford, Jack Gose, Seth Jones, Chad Brill, David Barb, Skylar Barnhardt, Sam Hoffman, Charles Smith, Phillip Robinson
Pure Stock Results
Rob Nichols, Dylan Rutherford, Mike Grady Jr, Tony Catlett, Michael Carter, Chuckie Johnson, Walter Crouch, Jimmy Combs, Deakon Snyder, Bailey Tolson, Delmar Grady, Greg Breeden, Andy Adkins, Bryan Kerns, Sean Dawson




3-26 4-3 4-10
4-17 5-1