Race Results
June 28, 2013


Spence Collects Winchester Fourth in Friday Three-State Flyer Main
DeHaven 3 for 5 With LLM Triumph
By Doug Watson
Winchester, VA- Whether it’s a Friday or Saturday, Winchester Va.’s JT Spence continues to win at Winchester speedway. Spence scored his fourth Late Model feature win of the season in last Friday nights 35-lap Three State Flyers event, and took home a cool $3000 for his efforts.
David Williams and Jeremy Miller paced the field to the initial green flag of the event. Miller shot into the race lead as the pack raced off turn-two with third-starting JT Spence in tow. Miller’s lead would only last for 4-laps as Spence swept into the race lead on lap-5. Spence would go on to lead the distance in the non-stop event, but it was by no means an easy win. As Spence lead, 4th-starting Mark Pettyjohn got close to Spence on more than one occasion and in a mad last lap dash to the checkered, Pettyjohn got a run on Spence, but fell short by a car length at the finish.
“Man I finally won one of these things.” A jubilant Spence stated in Winchester’s victory lane. “Ever since (Doug) Timmons has had the Three-Sate deal, I’ve wanted to win one of these races and for whatever reason we haven’t been able to, but tonight was our night.” Spence had his hands full negotiation heavy lapped traffic. “You really had to be careful out there tonight.” Spence stated. “I saw Mark’s number on the scoreboard and he’s been real fast here all season and I wasn’t sure how close he was and the lapped cars were a little hairy, but we were able to hold him off.” Gary Stuhler took third, Jeremy Miller settled for fourth with 9th-starting Trever Feathers rounding out the top-five. Setting fast time in time trials over the 23-car field was David Williams with a one-lap time of 14.607. Heats went to Williams and Stuhler.
Current Limited Late Model points leader Jonathon DeHaven continued his winning ways with his third feature win of the season in the divisions 20-lap feature. Kris Eaton lead the first-4-laps from his second starting spot with 6th-stating Jonathon DeHaven reaching second by lap-3. DeHaven snared the top spot on lap-5 and would survive a slew of late race cautions to preserve the win. Tyler Armstrong would take second, Derrick Quade third, Kris Eaton would hold on for fourth with Keith Walls completing the top-five. Heats for the 24-cars on hand went to Walter Crouch, Quade and DeHaven.
Mike Corbin scored his second win in a row and sixth of the season in the 15-lap Pure Stock main. In a race that featured four different leaders, Corbin came form his 12th-starting spot to grab the race lead from Mike Franklin on lap-11. Corbin and Franklin would battle furiously over the final five laps with Corbin posting the win. Mike Grady Jr. came home third, Point leader David Kaiser, recovered from and early race spin, to finish fourth with Terry Staton rounding out the top-five. Heats for the 19-cars entered went to Buddy Wilson and Mike Grady Jr.
Lester Riley appeared to have won his first-career Four-Cylinder feature as he lead all 15-laps from the pole, however a post-race inspection found him light at the scales, handing the win to points leader Ed Gageby. Allen Whitt Jr. was second, Justin Hottle third, Roger Whitlock was fourth with Jess Boyce taking fifth. Riley won the heat.
In the nightcap 20-lap U-Car feature it was current points leader Brenda Alexander scoring her second win of the season, and first since opening day. Alexander started on the pole and would lead the distance, but would have to fend off the challenges of defending track champion Kevin Oates to score the win. Mark Pollard was third, Bobby Perry took fourth with Justin Katz rounding out the top-five. Heats for the 34-cars went to Alexander, Perry and Oates.
Late Model feature finish
1. JT Spence 2. Mark Pettyjohn 3. Gary Stuhler 4. Jeremy Miller 5. Trever Feathers 6. Kenny Moreland 7. Tommy Armel 8. Jason Covert 9. DJ Myers 10. Dale Hollidge 11. CS Fitzgerald 12. Kenny Pettyjohn 13. Kyle Hardy 14. Scott LeBarron 15. Tanner Kerr 16. David Williams 17. Jason Miller 18. Jerry Bard 19. Tony Crim 20. Brad Omps 21. Nick Dickson 22. David Pettyjohn 23. Jamie Lathroum (DNS)
Limited late Model feature finish
1. Jonathon DeHaven 2. Tyler Armstrong 3. Derrick Quade 4. Kris Eaton 5. Keith Walls 6. James Myers 7. Walter Crouch 8. Mike Bennett 9. Robbie Emory 10. Richard Hawkins 11. Travis Stickley 12. Jason Smith 13. Jacob Burdette 14. Mitch Miller 15. Brad Ritter 16. Kevin Deremer 17. Michael Alderman 18. Kris Holliday 19. Ernie Shirley 20. Bubby Tharp Jr. 21. Bruce Kane 22. Rodney Walls 23. Kyle Lear (DNS) 24. James Carte (DNS)
Pure Stock feature finish
1. Mike Corbin 2. Mike Franklin 3. Mike Grady Jr. 4. David Kaiser 5. Terry Staton 6. Buddy Wilson 7. Josh Wilkins 8. Keith Koontz 9. Reese Alley 10. Greg Breeden 11. Brian Luttrell 12. Michael Carter 13. Kevin Koontz 14. Eddie McClellan 15. Craig Parrill 16. Eric Johnson 17. Bill Pifer 18. Jeff Budwash 19. Dickie Tharp (DQ)
Four-Cylinder feature finish
1. Ed Gageby 2. Allen Whitt Jr. 3. Justin Hottle 4. Roger Whitlock 5. Jesse Boyce 6. Ethan Ours 7. Lester Riley (DQ) 8. Darren Pingley (DNS)
U-Car feature finish
1. Brenda Alexander 2. Kevin Oates 3. Mark Pollard 4. Bobby Perry 5. Justin Katz 6. Jason Wilkins 7. Steve Fadeley 8. Alan Dice 9. Ryan Clement 10. Larry Lamb 11. Erica Bailey 12. Terry Leach 13. Sam Raley 14. Lisa Harden 15. Steve Katz 16. DJ Powell 17. Speed Alton 18. Cori French 19. Dwayne Pierson 20. Corey Swaim 21. Josh Walker 22. Austin Nichols 23. Kevin Pollard 24. Michael Pfaff 25. Theo Funk DNS- Megan Mann, Billy Hill, Randy Wilkins, Allen Jones, Jeff Wilkins, Jacob Lewis, Michael Webb, Gene Wilson, Gary Wilson




3-29 4-6 4-13
4-20 4-26 5-4
5-10 5-18 5-25
6-8 6-15 6-22