Race Results
June 30, 2018


"Palmer Scores Big in Winchester Late Models"

"Keith Koontz Rolls to Career First LLM Score"

By Doug Watson

                     Winchester, VA-  Scott Palmer drove to his first win of the season in last Saturday nights 30-lap Late Model feature at Winchester Speedway. The win for Palmer, a former Limited Late Model champion at the track, came in his familiar MasterSbilt no.86 and was the first of his his career with the Late Models at the Virginia bull ring. 
                     Palmer and Dale Hollidge shared the front row for the start of the event with Palmer booming into the race lead as the field came off turn two. As Palmer lead, fourth starting Trever Feathers arrived in second on the 13th lap and went after Palmer. Feathers was able to pull along side Palmer on more than one occasion, but was not able to make the pass as Palmer sped off to the break through win. "It feels great to finally get the monkey off our back." A jubilant Palmer stated in victory lane. "I've been racing for 20-years and this might be my last season so it's a great to finally get a Late Model win here at Winchester." Even though Palmer was the scored the leader for all 30-circuits, Trever Feathers was there every step of the way. "I knew Trever was there." Palmer quipped. "He pulled alongside me there a few times, but I knew if I held my line we'd be ok and we were able to hold him off."  Allen Brannon was third with Kyle Lear and Dale Hollidge completing the top-five. Heats went to Feathers and Hollidge. 
                    Keith Koontz, a recent graduate of the Pure Stock ranks, drove a masterful race to score his first career Limited Late Model feature win in the divisions 20-lap main. Koontz lined up second for the start and would lead the distance, but would have to repel the repeated advances from eventual runner-up Austin Stover to score the popular win aboard his BRC Lazer no.08. "I never thought we'd get a win in this class so quick." Koontz stated post race. "The track was in great shape tonight and Austin didn't make it easy for me, but it's great to be here right now."  Rodney Walls, James Lichliter and Justin Weaver trailed at the finish. Heats went to Austin Stover, Sam Bryant and Trever Feathers. 
                   In support class action Rob Nichols became the 5th different winner in five races with his win in the 15-lap Pure Stock feature, Tommy Whitt drove to his 4th victory of the season in the 15-lap Four Cylinder event, Dylan Rutherford scored his 2nd win of the season in the 15-lap Enduro stock main with Chad Brill collecting his 2nd of 2018 in the nightcap 15-lap U-Car feature. 

Late Model feature finish
1. Scott Plamer 2. Trever Feathers 3. Allen Brannon 4. Kyle Lear 5. Dale Hollidge 6. Jason Miller 7. Greg Roberson 8. Andy Anderson 9. Walter Crouch 10. Tyler Horst 11. Brad Omps 12. Andy Fries 13. Tyler Gray 14. James Carte 15. Greg Elrod 16. Kevin Palmer 17. Don Woodruff  DNS- Rodney Walls, Austin Stover, Mark Eshleman

Limited Late Model feature finish
1. Keith Koontz 2. Austin Stover 3. Rodney Walls 4. James Lichliter 5. Justin Weaver 6. Kris Holliday 7. Sam Bryant 8. Matt Marshall 9. Devin Brannon 10. Derick Quade 11. Scott Merryman 12. Shaun Wetzel 13. Matt Hildebrant 14. Justin Dillman 15. Dale Murphy 16. Trae Armel 17. Carl Biddle 18. Scott Sweeney 19. Madeline Miller 20. Brian Pearell 21. Jonathan DeHaven 22. John Rowland 23. Dallas Richards 24. Trever Feathers 25. Wesley Bonebrake 26. Jonny Oilver 27. BJ Mongold

Pure Stock feature finish
1. Rob Nichols 2. Chris Sumption 3. Jeremy Tinsman 4. Craig Parrill 5. Brian Luttrell 6. Tony Catlett 7. Ethan Ours 8. Brandon Lowery 9. Buddy Wilson 10. Paul Jones 11. Tike Loizos 12. Paul Crouch 13. Greg Morgan

Four Cylinder feature finish
1. Tommy Whitt 2. Justin Hottle 3. Vance Williams 4. Jason Stoner 5. Shaine Sixeas 6. Willie Dodson 7. Allen Whitt Jr. 8. Cody Williams 9. Randy Linaburg 10. Dave Mullenax 11. Jacob Whitt

Enduro Stock feature finish
1. Dylan Rutherford 2. Ricky Feltner 3. Chuckie Johnson 4. Dalton Dillman 5. Chet Morris 6. Stacy Newlin 7. Aaron Drummond 8. Ricky Pier 9. Jeff Galvin 10. Austin Nichols 11. Allen Jones 12. Seth Jones 13. Dustin Dillman 

U-Car feature finish
1. Chad Brill 2. Gene Wilson 3. Alan Dice 4. Jason Wilkins 5. Jeff Wilkins 6. Larry Lamb 7. Brent Howell 8.Allen Griffith 9. Robert Wilson 10. James Neff 11. Randy Wilkins 12. Branson 13. Dustin Arnold 14. Tiff Wilson 15. Matt Popish 





3-31 4-14 4-21
4-28 5-12 5-26