Race Results
March 29, 2013


“Mark Pettyjohn Dominate in Winchester Speedway Season-Opener”
By Doug Watson
Winchester, VA- Milton Delaware’s Mark Pettyjohn was victorious in last Friday nights 35-lap season opener at Winchester speedway, which also served as the first event of 2013 for the “Three State Flyers” late model series. The win for Pettyjohn, worth a cool $3000, was his second Winchester win in a row as he closed the 2012 season with a big win in the Raye Vest memorial last October.
By the luck of the draw Kenny Moreland and Petty john shared the front-row for the start of the event. After two aborted starts, the field finally settled down on the third try, with Pettyjohn taking the race lead as the mob raced off turn two. Pettyjohn would eventually go on to lead the distance, but some late-race drama, left the outcome uncertain. As the field came down to complete lap-33 Pettyjohn went into turn one high with second place runner Kenny Moreland charging the bottom. The duo made contact that nearly balled-up the rest of the field, however, Pettyjohn was able to keep his mount straight and would survive a late-race rush from eventual runner-up Rick Eckert to post the win in his Swartz Race Cars no.8Ball.
“I wasn’t sure who that was that got into us in turn one.” Pettyjohn stated in reference to the contact made be he and Moreland. “I was trying to protect my line and someone got in there and almost took us out, but we were fortunate enough to hold and get the win here tonight.” starting position was key to Pettyjohn’s winning run. “It helps a bunch to start towards the front.” Pettyjohn explained. “There are so many good cars here and the track was in really good shape, I just want to thank the lord for a safe race tonight.” Jason Covert took third, JT Spence was fourth with DJ Myers rounding out the top-five. Setting fast time in time trials over the 39-car field was Rick Eckert with a one-lap time of 14.611. Heats went to Tyler Hershey, Kenny Moreland, Mark Pettyjohn and DJ Myers with Dale Hollidge winning the consolation.
In the 15-lap pure stock main it was Buddy Wilson taking the victory for his second consecutive opening day feature win. Mike Corbin took the early race lead as the field took the green flag. Corbin appeared to have the car to beat as he lead until mechanical issues forced him to pit on lap-11. Mike Raleigh was the new pacesetter but would only lead lap-11 as he was involved in a crash off turn two. Buddy Wilson was the third leader of the race and would out duel runner-up Craig Parrill over the final five-laps to score the win. David Kaiser came home third, 15th starting Mike Franklin was fourth and 16th-starter John Gladden was the top-five. Heats for the 18-cars on hand went to Parrill and Jonathon Oliver.
Brenda Alexander was the winner of the 15-lap ucar feature that was cut short to nine laps do to the divisions time limit. Alexander stated second and would survive four caution periods to lead the distance over second-place finisher Justin Katz. Jeffery Budwash was third, Jeff Wilkins fourth and Steve Fadeley completed the top-five. Heats for the 26-cars entered went to Alexander and Steve Katz.
Late model feature finish
1. Mark Pettyjohn 2. Rick Eckert 3. Jason Covert 4. JT Spence 5. DJ Myers 6. Nick Dickson 7. Tyler Hershey 8. Dan Stone 9. Trever Feathers 10. David Williams 11. Scott LeBarron 12. Jerry Bard 13. Keith Jackson 14. Dale Hollidge 15. Brad Omps 16. Kenny Moreland 17. Gregg Satterlee 18. Gary Stuhler 19. Andy Haus 20. Tony Crim 21. Matt Cosner 22. Devin Friese 23. Duane Harbaugh 24. Brian Tavenner DNQ- David Pettyjohn, Kenny Pettyjohn, Roy Deese Jr., Pancho Lawler, Jamie Lathroum, Dan Swartzlander, Jimmy Richards, Justin Kann, Jason Miller, Kyle Hardy, CS Fitzgerald, Tyler Castle, Chuck Clise, Don Woodruff, Tommy Armel
Pure stock feature finish
1. Buddy Wilson 2. Craig Parrill 3. David Kaiser 4. Mike Franklin 5. John Gladden 6. Mike Grady Jr. 7. Jerry Fifield 8. Michael Carter 9. Mike Corbin 10. Josh Wilkins 11. Reese Alley 12. Brian Luttrell 13. Keith Koontz 14. Mike Raleigh 15. Jonathon Oliver 16. Dickie Tharp 17. Terry Staton 18. Wayne Haw baker (DNS)
Ucar feature finish
1. Brenda Alexander 2. Steve Katz 3. Jeffrey Budwash 4. Jeff Wilkins 5. Steve Fadeley 6. Michael Webb 7. Kevin Oates 8. Terry Leaih 9. Randy Wilkins 10. Kevin Pollard 11. Larry Lamb 12. Jacob Lewis 13. David Funk Jr. 14. Dwayne Pierson 15. Jonathon Pritt 16. Jason Wilkins 17. Michael Pfaff 18. Alan Dice 19. Theo Funk 20. Blayne Brown 21. Mark Pollard 22. Justin Katz 23. Robert Perry 24.Austin Nichols 25. Allen Jones (DQ) 26. Sarah Poston (DNS)