Race Results
Sept 28, 2019


"Hollidge Scores RUSH Late Model Thriller in Winchester Season Finale"

"Altobelli E-Mod Winner, Kling Mid-Atlantic Series Champ"

By Doug Watson

                Winchester, VA-  Dale Hollidge closed the 2019 season at Winchester Speedway in a big way with his win in the 35-lap RUSH Late Model main. The win for Hollidge, aboard his Greg Gunter owned Rocket no.0, was worth $2000 and would be his second Winchester win of the season and 6th overall victory of the 2019 campaign. 
                Andy Anderson, steering his Bruce Kane owned Rocket no.1K, shot from the pole to the race lead as the field drove off turn two. As Anderson paced the field, Dale Hollidge settled into second and went after Anderson. As the duo entered heavy lapped traffic on the final lap, Anderson got bottled up behind a slower car off turn four allowing Hollidge just enough time and room to sneak by and take the win by a whisker at the waving of the checkered flag. "I knew my only chance was to get Andy was in lapped traffic and when he got behind that lapped car on the last lap there was just enough room for me to get by." Hollidge stated post race. "We raced hard for the lead to the finish and we were able to come out on top." "We had a good car tonight and this win is a nice way to end the season." Anderson settled for second, ninth-starting Tanner Kerr came home third with Mike Franklin and Jakob Piper completing the top-five. Anderson and Franklin took heat wins over the 18-car field. 
               Michael Altobelli Jr. drove to his first Winchester feature win of the season in the 40-lap "Donnie Smith Memorial" Mid-Atlantic Modified contest. Altobelli's win was worth a hefty $2500 payday and it came in his familiar Harding Motorsports no.95. Altobelli, who lined up second for the start, took the lead at the drop of the green. Altobelli lead until Hunter McClendon took the top spot on the 11th circuit,but McClendon's lead would be short lived as Altobelli would regain the lead on the 14th lap. Once in the lead, Altobelli was the class of the field as he easily out distanced eventual runner-up Allen Brannon for the win. "This racetrack was awesome tonight." Altobelli stated in Victory lane. "Usually when we come here it's dry and slick, but tonight it was wide open and a lot of fun to race on." "I'd like to thank all my team and sponsors and especially the Smith family for putting this race on tonight." Cody Williams, Hunter McClendon and Mike Corbin rounded out the top-five. Heats for the 23 entrants went to Altobelli, McClendon and Mike Corbin. With his 7th place finish Brad Kling was named the 2019 Mid Atlantic Modified Series champion. "This has been an awesome season and I can't thank everyone on this team enough for helping us to get here." Kling remarked afterward. "We won at five different tracks this year and Mikey (Corbin) sure made us work for it all season but we were able to come out on top and it's a great feeling." 
               In support class action, Joe Rodgers scored his first career Winchester feature win in a thrilling 20-lap Enduro stock feature and 2019 track champion Gene Wilson was once again the class of the field as he tallied his 7th win of the season in the nightcap 20-lap U-Car main. 

RUSH Late Model feature finiah
1. Dale Hollidge 2. Andy Anderson 3. Tanner Kerr 4. Mike Franklin 5. Jakob Piper 6. Davis Lipscombe 7. Scott Sweeney Jr. 8. Dakota Riggleman 9. Roger Whitlock 10. Matt Marshall 11. Jonathan Raley 12. Tyler Hoy 13. Brian Coe Jr. 14. Levi Crowl 15. Colin Casale 16. Steve Lowery 17. Cuyler Upperman 18. Devin Brannon 

E-Mod feature finish
1. Michael Altobelli Jr. 2. Allen Brannon 3. Cody Williams 4. Hunter McClendon 5. Mike Corbin 6. Dale Smith 7. Brad Kling 8. Justin Cullum 9. Josh Hughes 10. Rusty Pennington 11. Haley Kaiser 12. Jeff McCauley 13. Frank DiBella 14. Andy Bosely 15. Kyle Lloyd 16. Doug Stine 17. Jacob Whitt 18. Keith Reed 19. Mark Schools 20. Gary Moreland 21. Chuckie Johnson 22. Ray Kable 23. Jeremiah Marshall

Enduro Stock feature finish
1. Joe Rodgers 2. Brad Benton 3. Dalton Dillman 4. Mike Ball 5. Phillip Robinson 6. Nathaniel Younker 7. Jeff Dillon 8. Jeff Galvin 9. Cody Breeden 10. Chad Brill 11. Jason Wilkins 

U Car feature finish
1. Gene Wilson 2. Russel Fox 3. Billy Smith 4. Robert Wilson 5. Jeff Wilkins 6. Kevin Oates 7. Lonnie Hobday 8. Evan Faust 9.Randy Wilkins 





3-30 4-6 4-13
4-20 4-27 5-18
5-25 6-1 6-8
6-15 6-22 6-29
7-13 7-20 7-27
8-10 8-17 8-24
8-31 9-7 9-21