Race Results
April 29, 2017


"Feathers Caps "Battle of the Bay" Weekend Saturday at Winchester"

"Brannon Scores Hat Trick in RUSH Crates"

By Doug Watson

       Winchester, VA-  Trever Feathers ended his early season woes in a big way as he was triumphant in last Saturday nights 35-lap Late Model feature at Winchester Speedway. Feathers win, steering his BWRC Race Cars no.20, earned him a $3000 winners check and made him the third different winner of the three race "Battle of the Bay" events held over the weekend.
       Trever Feathers and Thursday Delaware International winner Ricky Elliott brought the field to green with Feathers securing the top-spot as the field fanned out in turn one. As Feathers lead, Ronnie DeHaven Jr., tucked into second and took up the chase. Feathers would eventually lead the distance, but it was no easy trip to victory lane. DeHaven hounded Feathers the entire way, edging ahead at one point, before settling for a hard earned second as Feathers would take the win by less than a car length at the finish. "It's hard to believe this is the first race we've finished all season." A relieved Trever Feathers stated post race. "We went hard on tires tonight and they were starting to give up towards the end and I knew Ronnie was getting close, so had to drive the car as straight as I could to try and hold him back." A brand new power plant aided Feathers trip to the checkers. "I have to thank Roger DeVenny for this awesome motor." Trever stated. "We had some engine issues earlier in the year and he built us this new piece and it worked great for us tonight." Jonathan DeHaven was third, Dan Stone took fourth with 22nd starting Jason Miller rounding out the top-five. Heats for the 30-cars entered went to Feathers, Stone and Ronnie DeHaven Jr. with Tyler Horst winning the consolation. 
        Allen Brannon continued his Winchester hot streak as he took his third consecutive win in the 25-lap RUSH Crate Late Model main. Brannon, who lined up fourth for the start, took the lead on the second lap and then held off a furious late race rush by defending track champion Logan Roberson to score the $1000 win aboard his BRC Lazer no.30. "I am worn out." Allen stated in victory lane. "We lost power steering about ten laps into the feature and these things are a handful to drive without it." Superb track conditions made Brannon's job a bit easier. "Greg had this place in great shape tonight." Said Allen. "It was wide and smooth and real nice to race on." Tanner Kerr, in his season debut, Sparky White and Transtan Stoner trailed at the finish. Heats for the 23 entries went to Corey Almond, Brannon and Roberson.
        In support class action Jeremy Tinsman took his second of the season in the 15-lap Pure Stock feature, Jason Wilkins won for the third time in the 15-lap U-Car main with Tommy Whitt collecting his season first in the nightcap 15-lap Four-Cylinder feature. 

Late Model feature finish
1. Trever Feathers 2. Ronnie DeHaven Jr. 3. Jonathan DeHaven 4. Dan Stone 5. Jason Miller 6. Dale Hollidge 7. Walker Arthur 8. Mark Pettyjohn 9. Brian Booze 10. Ricky Elliott 11. Greg Roberson 12. Brad Omps 13. Glenn Elliott 14. Bubby Dillman 15. Cody Gray 16. Buddy Wilson 17. Mike Steck 18. Dylan Evans 19. Jason Dean 20. Walter Crouch 21. Nick Davis 22. Tyler Horst 23. Tommy Armel 24. Ross Robinson DNQ- Amanda Whaley, Brent Bordeaux, Justin Steele, Carl Grady, Scott Merryman, Kris Holliday

RUSH Crate Late Model feature finish
1. Allen Brannon 2. Logan Roberson 3. Tanner Kerr 4. Sparky White 5. Transtan Stoner 6. Dakota Riggleman 7. Mike Franklin 8. Tyler Bare 9. Matt Tarbox 10. Jacob Piper 11. Chuck Bowie 12. Corey Almond 13. Devin Brannon 14. Joe Warren 15. Scott Sweeney 16. Richard Hawkins 17. Cody Dawson 18. Matt Glanden 19. Harry Shipe III 20. Steve Lowery 21. Darren Alvey 22. Levi Crowl 23. Jonathan DeHaven

Pure Stock feature finish
1. Jeremy Tinsman 2. Rob Nichols 3. Darin Younker 4. Chris Sumption 5. Tyler Gray 6. Sam Crouch 7. Jeremy Pilkerton  8. Ethan Ours 9. Tom Smith 10. Greg Breeden 11. Walt Homberg (DNS)

U-Car feature finish
1. Jason Wilkins 2. Gene Wilson 3. Chad Brill 4. Jeff Wilkins 5. Tim Nichols 6. Robert Wilson 7. TJ Collins 8. Jacob Lewis 9. Larry Lamb 10. Branson Woodward 11. Brent Howell 12. Kevin Woodward 13. Rick Culton 14. Terry Heflin 15. Rick Bowman 16. Jeff Kline 17. Randy Wilkins 18. Terry Kave 19. Anthony Dudley 20. Austin Nichols

Four-Cylinder feature finish
1. Tommy Whitt 2. Randy Linaburg 3. Allen Whitt Jr. 4. Willie Dodson 5. Jacob Whitt 6. Dave Mullenax 7. Matt Sowers 8. Dustin Speelman 9. Matt Wisecarver 10. Michael Pfaff




3-25 4-1 4-8