Race Results
April 20, 2019


"Roberson Defends Home Turf in "Battle of the Bay Series" Finale Saturday at Winchester"

"Max Blair Claims Series Championship"

By Doug Watson

           Winchester, VA-  Logan Roberson drove an inspired race to score his second feature win of the season in last Saturday nights 30-lap RUSH Dirt Late Model series "Battle of the Bay" finale at Winchester Speedway. The win for Roberson, worth $3000, came steering his trusty Rocket no.17R and would also be his second consecutive win in this event as he took the checkered flag in last years contest.
          Ross Robinson and Logan Roberson made up the front row for the start with Robinson blasting into the lead as the field entered turn one. Robinson had his Capital Race Cars no. 7R on a rail and looked as though he might run off to the big win. However, fate stepped in as Robinson's mount lost a drive shaft on the 10th lap forcing him to retire. Logan Roberson, second at the time, would take the lead and then hold off the repeated challenges from eventual runner up Max Blair to score the crowd pleasing win. "I'd just like to thank Vicki Emig and all the people from RUSH for having such a great series." Logan stated from the Winchester victory lane. "Greg and Bobby had this place in great shape tonight shape tonight and I hope we put on a good show for all the fans." Roberson knew once he took the lead after Ross Robinson's left the event he'd have his hands full with Max Blair who took series wins at Delaware International and Georgetown. "He's one of the best in the business." Logan bottom lined. "I knew neither one of us was going to give an inch out there and I'm really glad we were able to come out on top." Series champ Max Blair was quite pleased with his teams performance, despite losing the scheduled Friday event at Potomac. "We were good Wednesday and Thursday and we had a good car tonight, but the car just didn't take off the way we needed it to and I'm glad to get a second here tonight." Max stated post race. "This RUSH deal is second to none and we're really happy to win the series championship." Jeremy Wonderling took third, 12th starting Charlie Sandercock was 4th and Matt Hill, who drove the final 10-laps with a left front flat tire, rounded out the top-five. Taking heat wins over the 44 car field were Logan Roberson, Max Blair, Trever Feathers, Kyle Lukon and Ross Robinson, with twin B-Mains going to Tyler Bare and Levi Crowl. Sam Pennacchio would lead from green to checker in the 10-lap non-qualifiers feature. 
         In support class action Chris Sumption drove to his 2nd win of the season in the 15-lap Pure Stock feature, Austin Nichols would also grab his 2nd main event win of 2019 in the 15-lap Enduro Stock event and Gene Wilson scored a dominating win in the nightcap 15-lap U-Car contest.  

RUSH Crate Late Model feature finish
1. Logan Roberson  2. Max Blair 3. Jeremy Wonderling 4. Charlie Sandercock 5. Matt Hill 6. Tim Latta 7. Jakob Piper 8. Kyle Lukon 9.Nick Davis 10. Braden Dellinger 11. Darrell Bossard 12. Michael Duritsky 13. Jason Genco 14. JJ Mazur 15. Billy Beachler 16. Jennae Piper 17. Amanda Whaley 18.Jonathan Raley 19. Levi Crowl 20. Bill Kessler 21. Devin Brannon 22. Ross Robinson 23. Tyler Bare 24. Steve Lowery 25. Dale Hollidge 26. Trever Feathers DNQ- Billy Thompson, Sam Pennacchio, Jamie Wrightsman, Al Shawver Jr., Chuck Bowie, Cody Dawson, Logan Zarin, Chad Sines, Joe Pete, Timmy Booth, Ryan Frazee, Andy Michael, Kyle Murray, Scott Gunn, Jeremy Pilkerton, Derek Magee DNS- Bryan Benton, Scott Sweeney Jr.

RUSH non-qualifiers feature
1. Sam Pennacchio 2. Timmy Booth 3. Chuck Bowie 4. Al Shawver Jr. 5. Kyle Murray 6. Ryan Frazee 7. Derek Magee 8. Jeremy Pilkerton 9. Jamie Wrightsman 10. Cody Dawson

Pure Stock feature finish
1. Chris Sumption 2. Jeremy Tinsman 3. Buddy Wilson 4. Rob Nichols 5. Tyler Gray 6. Ricky Feltner 7. Branson Woodward 8. Matt Randall 9. Jerry Jenkins Jr. 10. Delmar Grady 11. Craig Parrill 12. Dylan Rutherford 13. Brad Benton 14. Ethan Ours 15. Tony Catlett 16. Ed Pope Jr. 

Enduro Stock feature finish
1. Austin Nichols 2. Chuckie Johnson 3. Randy Linaburg 4. Chad Brill 5. Aaron Drummond 6. Cody Sumption 7. Allen Jones 8. Jason Wilkins 9. Phillip Robinson 10.Dan Walters 11. Nathaniel Younker 12. Seth Jones 13. Ricky Peer 14.Jeff Galvin 15. Dalton Dillman 16. Skylar Barnhart 17. Jerry Blansett

U-Car feature finish
1. Gene Wilson 2. Jeff Wilkins 3. Kevin Oates 4. Billy Smith 5. Randy Wilkins 6. Allen Griffith 7. Larry Lamb 8. Evan Foust 9. Ricky Shanholtz 10.Tiff Wilson 11. Alan Dice 12. Robert Wilson 13. Russel Fox 14. Dana Palmer 




3-30 4-6 4-13