Race Results
August 26, 2017


"Feathers Winchester Fifth Comes in Red Ninninger Memorial"

"Franklin Prevails for RUSH Crate LM Score"

By Doug Watson

                Winchester, VA-  Trever Feathers continued his torrid pace in Winchester Late Model action as he rolled to his second win in a row and 5th of the season in last Saturday nights 35-lap "Red Ninninger Memorial". The win for Feathers, worth a cool $3000 pay day, was his 7th overall win of the 2017 season and it came steering his trusty Barry Wright Race Cars no.20.
                The redraw placed Trever Feathers and Mark Pettyjohn on the front row for the start with Pettyjohn surging into the race lead as the field drove off turn two. Feathers hounded Pettyjohn for the first 9 laps before making, what would be, the winning pass on the 10th circuit. Once in the lead, Feathers would have things his way and dominate the remaining 25-laps taking the win over Pettyjohn who would come home a distant second. "After all the hard work in the shop last night and even into this afternoon, it's great to come out here tonight and get another win." Feathers stated post race. "We got wrecked at Hagerstown last night and the car was in bad shape, but everyone dug in and got this thing back together so we could race here tonight." A fast race car and racy track conditions propelled Feathers to the eventual win. "Mark got us at the start and we settled into second at that point." Feathers remarked. "The bottom came in tonight and when we finally cleared Mark for the lead we got in clean air and were able to drive off." Current point leader Dale Hollidge was third, Jonathan DeHaven took fourth with 15th starting Andy Fries completing the top-five. Heats for the 24 entries went to Kyle Hardy, Mark Pettyjohn and Ross Robinson.
              Mike Franklin became the 7th different division winner with his first feature win of the season in the 20-lap RUSH Crate Late Model main. Franklin, who started on the pole, took the lead on the first lap and would lead to the finish aboard his BRC Lazer no.74. "We found some things we didn't like with the car over the past couple races and it was really good here tonight." Said Franklin. "The track was in good shape tonight and I didn't really have to push the car too hard, that's how good it was." Trevor Collins posted a career best Winchester finish in second with Sparky White, Scott Sweeney and Levi Crowl rounding out the top-five. Heats for the 26 cars on hand went to Logan Roberson, Franklin and Sweeney.
             Chris Fletcher was in the right place at the right time to post his second win of the season in the 30-lap Mid-Atlantic Modified main event. Rick Hulson and Jimmy Jesmer Jr. were battling for the lead until they crashed on the 26th lap handing the lead to Fletcher, who was running 3rd at the time. Fletcher would then control the final 4-laps taking the win over Brad Kling, Ray Kable Jr., Justin Cullum and Alyssa Rowe. "I guess it's better to be lucky than good." Fletcher stated. "I just want to thank everyone who helps with this deal, we had a great car tonight." Heats for the 16 car field went to Fletcher and Hulson.
             In other action, Craig Parrill scored his 3rd win of the season in the 15-lap Pure Stock feature, Ricky Feltner drove to his 8th win of the season and the 2017 track title in the 15-lap Enduro Stock event with Scott Rickrode and Doug Bennett splitting twin 15-lap Vintage car features. 

Late Model feature finish
1. Trever Feathers 2. Mark Pettyjohn 3. Dale Hollidge 4. Jonathan DeHaven 5. Andy Fries 6. Brian Booze 7. Allen Brannon 8. Jamie Lathroum 9.Scott Palmer 10. Travis Stickley 11. Reese Masiello 12. Carter Miller 13. Tommy Armel 14. Nick Davis 15. Brad Omps 16. Curtis Teats 17. Scott Merryman 18. Walter Crouch 19. Russell Erwin 20. Kyle Hardy 21. Mike Steck 22. Ross Robinson DNS- Jason Miller, Tyler Horst

RUSH Crate Late Model feature finish
1. Mike Franklin 2.Trevor Collins 3. Sparky White 4. Scott Sweeney 5. Levi Crowl 6. Joe Warren 7. Mike Wharton 8. Devin Brannon 9. Bud Durboraw 10. Matt Glanden 11. Transtan Stoner 12. Chuck Bowie 13. Gunner Kerr 14.Matt Tarbox 15. Darren Alvey 16. Jennae Piper 17. Brandon Sturgis 18.Richard Hawkins 19. Kevin Moore 20. Sam Brown 21.Harry Shipe III 22. Roger Whitlock 23. Timmy Booth 24. Jacob Piper 25. Cory Lawler 26. Logan Roberson

Modified feature finish
1. Chris Fletcher 2. Brad Kling 3. Ray Kable Jr. 4. Justin Cullum 5. Alyssa Rowe 6. Rick Hulson 7.Keith Reed 8. Haley Kaiser 9. Hunter Nester 10. Brian Green 11. Jimmy Jesmer Jr. 12. Jim Trenary 13. Mike Corbin 14. Quitin Hankla 15. Josh Roberson 16. Mark Jones

Pure Stock feature finish
1. Craig Parrill 2. Jeremy Tinsman 3. Chris Sumption 4. Ethan Ours 5. Rob Nichols 6. Darin Younker 7. Tony Catlett 8. Brandon Lowery 9. Brian Lederhouse

Enduro Stock feature finish
1. Ricky Feltner 2. Paul Jones 3. Danny Holmes 4. Allen Jones 5. Seth Jones 6. Mark Vegh 7. Dalton Dillman DNS- Charles Nobitt, Tommy Caravello   




3-25 4-1 4-8
4-15 4-29 5-13
5-20 5-27 6-3
6-17 6-24 7-2
7-9 7-15 8-5
8-12 8-19