Race Results
Aug 24, 2019


"Brannon's RUSH Hat Trick Secures First Winchester Title"

"Tinsman, Sumption, Wilson Division Champions"

By Doug Watson

            Winchester, VA-  Devin Brannon put an exclamation point on his career season as he drove to his 3rd win of the season in last Saturday nights 20-lap RUSH Crate Model feature at Winchester Speedway. Brannon's victory, aboard his family owned Longhorn no.37, propelled the now high school senior to his first career Winchester track championship in the process.
           Brannon snared the race lead from Kyle Lear on the third lap, and drove off uncontested locking up the win and title as he zipped under the checkered flag. "This is a dream come true." Brannon stated in his post race interview. "I can's team enough, we've had a great season." Racing conservatively was not on Brannon's agenda entering the event. "The track was in great shape tonight and we were able to to get Kyle on the top." Brannon quipped. "It's an awesome feeling to win the race and championship on the same night." Lear held tough for second with Mike Franklin, Steve Lowery and Transtan Stoner completing the top-five. 
           In the make up 20-lap RUSH Crate Late Model main,former track champion Transtan Stoner wired the field to collect his first win of the season steering his Kenny Barnhart owned, MasterSbilt no.M14. "I typically don't like racing in the mud, but we got the jump at the start and we made the most of it." Stoner remarked. "We really haven't had a good season and this win sure makes up for it." Levi Crowl took second with Jordan Kauffman, Jakob Piper and Ben Bowie trailing at the finish.
           Buddy Wilson took the lead from Walter Crouch on the 4th lap and drove off to his 4th win of the season in the 15-lap Pure Stock feature. Chris Sumption rallied late for second with Walter Crouch, Brandon Lowery and Jerry Jenkins Jr. completing the top-five. With his 6th place finish, Jeremy Tinsman collected his first career Winchester track title. "This is so bittersweet." An emotional Tinsman ittersweet." An emotional Tinsman said afterward. "Through all the ups and downs this team has stuck with me and I can't be more proud to get them this championship."
          Class rookie Cody Sumption romped to his 7th win of the season and the 2019 Enduro Stock track championship. Sumption took the lead from Randy Linaburg on the 8th lap and drove off to a convincing win. "I just can't believe it." A jubilant Sumption remarked in victory lane. "I have to thank my mom and dad and all our sponsors this has been such a good season and I don't want it to end." Dalton Dillman, Scott McCartney and Jeff Galvin rounded out the top-five. 
          Gene Wilson scored his 5th U-Car win of the season in the first of two events for the class.Trailing Wilson at the finish were Mark Pollard, Jeff Wilkins, Kevin Oates and Allen Griffith. In the second event Jeff Wilkins tallied his 3rd win of the season in a flag to flag effort. Robert Wilson, Billy Smith, Gene Wilson and Allen Griffith rounded out the top-five. With his 4th place finish, Gene Wilson secured the division championship. "We worked hard all season to get this and I have to thank my dad and the man upstairs for making this happen."    

RUSH Crates (Regular event) feature finish
1. Devin Brannon 2. Kyle Lear 3. Mike Franklin 4. Steve Lowery 5. Transtan Stoner 6. Tanner Kerr 7. Scott Sweeney Jr. 8. Levi Crowl 9. Ben Bowie 10. Jakob Piper 11. Timmy Booth 12. Mike Raleigh 13. Dustin Arnold 14. Donnie Tepper 15. Jordan Kauffman 16. Dakota Riggleman

RUSH Crate (Make up event) feature finish
1. Transtan Stoner 2. Levi Crowl 3. Jordan Kauffman 4. Jakob Piper 5. Ben Bowie 6. Devin Brannon 7. Scott Sweeney Jr. 8. Mike Raleigh 9. Dustin Arnold 10. Timmy Booth 11. Donnie Tepper

Pure Stock feature finish
1. Buddy Wilson 2. Chris Sumption 3. Walter Crouch 4. Brandon Lowery 5. Jerry Jenkins Jr. 6. Jeremy Tinsman 7. Branson Woodward 8. Tony Catlett 9. Mike Grady Jr. (DNS) 10. Mike Bohrer (DNS)

Enduro Stock feature finish
1. Cody Sumption 2. Randy Linaburg 3. Dalton Dillman 4. Scott McCartney 5. Jeff Galvin 6. Aaron Drummond 7. Jason Wilkins 8. Phillip Robinson 9. Skylar Barnhart

U-Cars (Regular event) feature finish
1. Jeff Wilkins 2. Robert Wilson 3. Billy Smith 4. Gene Wilson 5. Allen Griffith 6. Mark Pollard 7. Kevin Oates 8. Stephen Suite 9. Russell Fox 10. Lonnie Hobday 11. Randy Wilkins 12. Tiff Wilson 13. Ricky Shanholtz 14. Larry Lamb (DNS)

U-Cars (Make up event) feature finish
1. Gene Wilson 2. Mark Pollard 3. Jeff Wilkins 4. Kevin Oates 5. Allen Griffith 6. Billy Smith 7. Lonnie Hobday 8. Russell Fox 9.Tiff Wilson 10. Evan Foust (DNS) 11. Larry Lamb (DNS)   





3-30 4-6 4-13
4-20 4-27 5-18
5-25 6-1 6-8
6-15 6-22 6-29
7-13 7-20 7-27
8-10 8-17